More TCG Regionals Practice – Recap

Hello everyone!

Regionals Prep continues with more in person events to practice paper. Grinding Pokemon TCG Online is one thing, but playing with actual cards is a whole other beast.

This past weekend, Danny and I went to two separate events for practice. The first, I played a standard version of my deck (which arguably is the harder format for me). It was a smaller turnout, but I ended up going undefeated, winning my first local tournament. It was exciting, but I feel like I just lucked out and my opponents’ decks locked up or didn’t perform well. I faced Greninja, Marowak/Zygarde, and a Mega Rayquaza deck. Ended up scoring three Steam Siege packs for the victory!

20161204_154718
Later that night, Danny and I ended up participating at another local tournament; this time it was expanded format. I played against Malamar, Volcanion, Mega Gardevoir, and Mega Mewtwo.  I suffered hard losses versus Volcanion (didn’t draw into any of my supporters and my hand locked up) and Mega Mewtwo (tough match up for me every time). For Regionals, I perceive that most of my match ups will be either Dark, Fairy, or Psychic. Anytime I face these on paper, I am happy since it gives me much needed experience.

With only a little over a week left to prepare for Regionals, I am attending an expanded League Challenge this Saturday. I hope that everyone brings out their best decks, because it’ll be the last real practice I’ll have before the big day.

I’ll post after this Saturday’s tournament, wish me luck!

===
Also, I hope everyone is enjoying Pokemon Sun and Moon! Still working through the story, so I’ll save my thoughts till after I beat the game.

Leave a Reply

