Today’s Sun and Moon Trailer was… Awesome.

Before you continue on, please watch the trailer here. Spoilers will commence afterwards. You have been warned!

SPOILERS:

=========

The newest trailer that was released today showcased the final evolutions of the starter Pokemon. These were previously leaked via concept art, so I personally wasn’t too surprised. Originally, I thought that only the grass starter looked interesting. However, after seeing the official art and in game animations, I can say that the fire Pokemon has grown on me. The water Pokemon, while being generally unique, just isn’t as cool as previous water starters to me.

Decidueye, the grass Pokemon, is of the Grass/Ghost type. It is basically an owl archer that rocks a grass hoodie. How cool is that design?! Its signature attack prevents opponents from fleeing.

Incineroar, the fire Pokemon, is of the Fire/Dark type. It looks to be a sort of humanoid cat wrestler. I am trouble figuring out why this one is actually a dark type. Sure it has the visual ques, but why? It almost seems like it was supposed to be a fighting type. The design, although looking better in use vs original concept art, reminds me too much of previous Fire/Fighting starters. It actually reminds me a lot of Embroar’s design and color scheme. Its signature attack ignores opponent stat boosts.

Primarina, the water Pokemon, is of the Water/Fairy type. It seems to be a mermaid/diva. The water line did not at all interest me this generation. The designs of the base form and 1st evolution remind me of the various seal Pokemon that have released before. Being a Fairy type is interesting though, since it was a new type that was released in the X/Y generation for balancing issues. Its signature attack heals burn statuses (that seems very niche to me).

Although starter Pokemon are notorious for not being “playable” in high levels of competitive play, I am interested to see which of the three would be the best choice when considering this year’s VGC tournaments. The format dictates that you may only use Pokemon found in the Aloha Pokedex, so there is a good chance that one of these could be utilized. I am most likely going to use Decidueye, which is the first grass starter to interest me in a very long time. We will have to see if its signature attack synergies with its stat pool or move set.

I just wanted to also talk about the parts of the trailer. Island guardians look pretty cool! I guess they are either legendary or pseudo legendaries. One was shown summoning a giant body made of light, with the island guardian becoming the head. Z moves do not seem to look as funny when done by the female trainer. Being able to visit the construction site of the Pokemon League causes me to believe that it won’t be in the actual game; it’s still great that they included that part as a throwback to older titles. The battle theme that has been heard through most if not all of the trailers also sounds great; I can’t see myself getting tired of it anytime soon.

And seeing Red and Blue was fantastic. I guess this game is set in the future, as both trainers look like they are in their mid 20s or older. Red sadly does not look as epic as he did on Mt. Silver, but I’ll take what I can get.

I seriously can’t wait for Pokemon Sun and Moon!

Leave a Reply

